Rome's Heretical Inventions

300 A.D. Prayers for the dead.*
300 A.D. Making the sign of the Cross.
320 A.D. Wax candles.*
375 A.D. Veneration of angels and dead saints, and the use of images.
394 A.D. The mass, as a daily celebration.
431 A.D. Beginning of the exaltation of Mary; the term 'Mother of God' first applied to Mary by the Council of Ephesus.
500 A.D. Priests differentiated from the common man by dress (clothing).
526 A.D. Extreme Unction.
593 A.D. The doctrine of purgatory established by Gregory I.
600 A.D. Latin language, used in prayer and worship, imposed by Gregory I.
600 A.D. Prayers directed to Mary, dead saints and angels.*
607 A.D. Title of pope, or universal bishop, given to Boniface III by Emperor Phocas.
709 A.D. Kissing the pope's foot, began with Constantine.
750 A.D. Temporal power of the popes conferred by Pepin, king of the Franks.
786 A.D. Authorised worship of the cross, images and relics.
850 A.D. Holy water, mixed with a pinch of salt and blessed by a priest.
890 A.D. Worship of Saint Joseph.
927 A.D. College of the Cardinals established.
965 A.D. Baptism of Bells, instituted by Pope John XIII.
995 A.D. Canonization of dead saints, by Pope John XV.
998 A.D. Fasting on Fridays and during Lent.
1079 A.D. Mandatory observance of the mass.
1090 A.D. The rosary, mechanical praying, invented by Peter the Hermit.
1184 A.D. The Inquisition instituted by the Council of Verona.
1190 A.D. Sale of indulgences.
1215 A.D. Transubstantiation proclaimed by Pope Innocent III.
1215 A.D. Auricular (talking in someone's ear) Confession of sins to a priest instead of God, instituted by Pope Innocent III at the Lateran Council.
1220 A.D. Adoration of the Wafer (Host), decreed by Pope Honorius III.
1229 A.D. The Bible forbidden to laymen and placed on the Index of Forbidden Books by the Council of Valencia.
1251 A.D The Scapular invented by Simon Stock, an English monk.
1414 A.D. The cup forbidden to the people at communion by the Council of Constance.
1439 A.D. Purgatory proclaimed as a dogma by the Council of Florence.
1439 A.D. The doctrine of seven sacraments affirmed.
1508 A.D. The Ave Maria (Hail Mary) -completed fifty years later and approved by Pope Sixtus V about 1600 A.D.
1534 A.D. Jesuit Order founded by Ignatius Loyola.
1545 A.D. Tradition declared of equal authority with the Bible by the Council of Trent.
1546 A.D. Apocryphal books added to the Bible by the Council of Trent.
1560 A.D. 'Creed' of Pope Pius IV imposed as the official creed.
1854 A.D. Immaculate Conception of the Virgin Mary proclaimed by Pope Pius IX.
1864 A.D. The 'Syllabus of Errors' proclaimed by Pope Pius IX and ratified by the Vatican Council; condemned freedom of religion, conscience, speech, press, and scientific discoveries which are not approved by the Roman Church; and also asserted the pope's temporal authority over all civil rules
1950 A.D. Assumption of the Virgin Mary (bodily ascension into heaven shortly after her death) proclaimed by Pope Pius XII.

*approximate dates


Author and source unknown